REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Ross Candoo  04/08/2012          
Sirens
Album Review
I bought a few CD's on our visit to Gruene from Seattle to see Reckless Kelly...the Sons of Bill was recommended by the folks at LSM and it is a gem.(The best we picked up)..It's all their own sound...but you hear influnces of Springsteen ,Mark Knopfler, Wilco and Gin Blossoms...Like when you listened to early Beatles and heard Carl Perkins in George's guitar work....these guys tip their hats to their influences yet cook up a great unique set of songs....Musically and lyrically this is the best I have heard so far in 2012. I can't wait to see where these guys take their fans over the next years...that will be fun. But for now, roll the windows down and crank this one up.
Michael  02/05/2012          
Sons Of Bill
Artist Review
I am now almost 65. To celebrate my 60th birthday, my brother dragged me and some of our vagabond friends down to a music festical in Crozet on a beatiful autumn evening in a meadow in the valley. Trees on Fire was supposed to be the headliner,and they were cooking,but SOB had people dancing in the grass. Bad Bill (formerly Sweet William until he married, and also a son of A Bill) said all those lovely women were part of Martina Gay tennis contingent, and that's why they appreciated his offers to partner dance. It wasn't 'til later I came to question that story. Great band. Outstanding SONG WRITERS & musicans.
Al  08/16/2010          
Sons Of Bill
Artist Review
saw SOB for the first time openin for CCR couple years ago in a little bar bout an hour from where they live, got to be one of the best live shows I've ever seen. Still try to make it out to see them when they get back close to home. Have both their cds, awesome to finally have a great band from VA where you dont have travel to OK or TX to hear them play live.
Sabine  08/02/2010          
Sons Of Bill
Artist Review
I dont come on here often to review a CD, but "One Town Away" is worth the time. This is an outstanding album with excellent lyrics and sound.
mj  06/30/2010          
One Town Away
Album Review
i agree. Just because they are not from texas doesnt mean they arent good. jerry jeff walker is from new york and nobody complains about him.
Cletus in Crowley  04/17/2010          
Sons Of Bill
Artist Review
These guys are flat-out great. Wish they would play Texas more often...I'm sure the live shows are awesome.
yankee  01/26/2010          
Sons Of Bill
Artist Review
This is a great group and a great cd. Don't miss a chance to see them live. This cd is outstanding. 'Nuf said.
Another SOB  01/20/2010          
One Town Away
Album Review
Don't often agree with VTS, but he nailed this one regarding Sons of Bill. For those who are holding out because, "they are not from Texas", you are only hurting yourself. This is a great band with an original and refreshing sound.
PK  01/20/2010          
Sons Of Bill
Artist Review
Saw Sons of Bill open for Reckless Kelly during shows in Jax, FL, and Tampa, FL. They can play some music kids. Stong songwriting.
Vinny The Shark  01/20/2010          
Sons Of Bill
Artist Review
Vinny caught Sons Of Bill last week at the Wormy Dog. Wow. What a breath of fresh air. Only 18 people showed up, but Sons Of Bill put on the best show Vinny has seen at the Wormy Dog in almost a year when Justin Townes Earle/Jason Isbell and Ryan Bingham were in town. These guys get it. Rootsy, Americana, Southern Rock with some Gospel splashed in for good measure. Even threw in some Alice In Chains on the song "Rain" and some Slayer when someone in the crowd requested "Wagon Wheel". That scored major points with Vinny right there. Go see these guys. They are the real deal. Vinny bought both of their cds at the show. You should do the same. Good stuff. Guaranteed.


right-Advertisement


Erotik HD Video