REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Todd  05/14/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
This review is in 2 parts Part 1: Adam is an incredible songwriter. His wry humor reminds me of none other than the great John Prine. He has the ability to turn a simple event (lets say buying a snowcone) into an emotional trip. Part 2: Chevyman... I can only assume you rate singer songwriters on their ability to be a party band. While most on your list I love and respect... bands like Bleu Edmonson and Roger Creager are average songwriters at best. They write in the standard cliches... and only shine when they are covering other artist material (aka: Roger"s version of "LA Freeway"). I will admit... both are fun to see and party with... I don't see how critical view of their songwriting ability places either above Steve Earle.
The Real McCoy  05/13/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
The Chevyman needs to get a clue. The list of artists he has is way off, sure Cory and Robert Earl are deserving but Roger Creager, Matt Powell and Dub Miller come on. Maybe it's that you are too conformed to traditional music to understand and appreciate Adam's music. Adam is a unique musical talent that comes along once in lifetime. Just imagine what the critics said about Bob Dylan when he first came out. If you are looking for something different and refreshing, purchase this CD. Rock on Chad, loved the comments.
Chad Raney - LSM Web Guru  05/12/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
Chevyman - I deleted you previous review because there was not much substance to your negative post. Yes, you are entitled to your opinion so post away. On your last post you stated the greatest Texas artists were (in order of greatness) Cory Morrow, Bleu Edmondson, Robert Earl Keen, Pat Green, Owen Temple, Jerry Jeff Walker, Roger Creager, Dub Miller, Matt Powell, Gary P Nunn, Steve Earle... I happen to respect and highly recommend all the above mentioned, but seriously... Cory Morrow is greater than Steve Earle??? I would hate to see where Ray Wylie Hubbard, Willis Alan Ramsey, Bruce Robison, Charlie Robison, Jack Ingram, Todd Snider, Slaid Cleaves, Townes Van Zandt, Terry Allen, Guy Clark, Billy Joe Shaver and many other great "Lone Stars" rank. Get real and get educated...
chevyman  05/11/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
I put up a review about three days ago stating my opinion that this album, "The Screen Door" only deserves two stars. Now I don't know if it is because the person who is ahead of this site is obsessed with Adam Carrol, but I believe I am entitled to my opinion. Now once again I will say the lyrics that Adam Carrol writes are overrated and not nearly good as people make them seem. Another thing is intrumentally the cd is weak and Adam shows weakness in the area of music theory and intelligence, and the cd is not worth buying, if you don't already have many other artists. These artists include: (in order of greatness) Cory Morrow, Bleu Edmondson, Robert Earl Keen, Pat Green, Owen Temple, Jerry Jeff Walker, Roger Creager, Dub Miller, Matt Powell, Gary P Nunn, Steve Earle. And then there are bands you should look for too including: The Great Divide, Reckless Kelly and Cross Canadian Ragweed. There are probably many others i have forgotten to include, but this time I don't want my review cut off, and also nothing against Adam Carrol, because he is decent, but you should check out some of these artists first.
Matthew from San Angelo  04/09/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
Maybe the greatest singer/songwriter of the present college generation. With fanastic guitar licks, his trusty harmonica, and Prine-esque lyrics, Adam will be around for a while. He put on a show in Blaine's Pub in San Angelo along with Damon Bramblett and Cary Swinney, just the three of them and their guitars, it was probably the best concert Blaine has had. Keep it up Adam.
Louise  04/08/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
I can't say enough good things about this guy. He is a truly great songwriter and an awesome performer. His songs make me smile and make me dream.
Bing Canion  04/05/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
The next coming of Townes and Prine! To think that Adam is a product of the most musically deprived part of Texas--East Texas is amazing.
BrettC  03/17/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
Adam Carroll is a great songwriter and puts on a really good show that I could see over and over. Be sure to watch for more new songs out of him.
Britni Cameron  03/14/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
A friend of mine got me to go see this cutie opening up for Terri about a month ago. I got on his web site to look at some pix, and there are none. Please give this to the person in charge of adding things to his site. He has two awesome Cds and a great website to go along with them, but there is no way to see him. The only picture in the site doesn't look like him at all, which is fine by me because I think he is adorable and he sings with his heart.
RWRoberts  03/08/2001          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
I saw this guy play about a month ago at Saengerhalle in New Braunfels in front of about 20 people, and he was still putting on quite a show. His playing is barely outdone by his writing. I never would have thought someone could make a song about Sno-Cones sound that good. I strongly recommend seeing him live if you get a chance. He has been driving all over Texas and Louisiana for the past couple of months in support of his new album.


right-Advertisement


Eryaman Odtülüler Dershanesi