REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Zack Thatcher  04/22/2013          
The Great Controversy
Javi is an incredible singer/songwriter. The Great Controversy is another shining example of his talent. Hopefully this guy is around for years to come!
MikeBennett  04/22/2013          
The Great Controversy
An outstanding album well worth the listen!! Own this album! Every song is a gem and you cannot stop listening to Javi's latest endeavor! A+
Gamez  03/28/2013          
The Great Controversy
Turn it up and enjoy.
jb love/jeff brown   03/27/2013          
The Great Controversy
From the opening chords of'The Sound' one knows the ride is on" the fire spitting lyrics dance around you toying you, waiting to strike again with the alluring prowess of (track 2.) 'Nightfall' That when you're surrounding to a intoxicating follow up to Javi Garcia's " A Southern Horror" . Brilliant job, The Great Contravorsy " Javi
JohnBuen  03/27/2013          
The Great Controversy
Americana, Texan, Country, ROCK, Folk, Mexican Army Brass?..nah...Yes!! Classic sounds from a group of close talented guys that have been honing these sounds to a sharp lethal two edged sword. Lyrics with a "twist in the gut" somewhere in there...if you're "listening" to them (you should be) & not too caught up in the pleasure of "hearing" the amazing classic riffs & licks, keys, drums, fiddle, harmony vocals, accordian, steel guitar, electric guitar, Mexican style horns & brass..yes brass..stomps, claps & chains..yes chains. This is the long awaited, "next album" sequel, to "A Southern Horror" 2010~ that became my favorite album after buying a pile of them from Lone Star Music shortly after it's release, on a road trip to & from New Braunfels. Many of the same very talented close knit group of friends helped make this new album as well. The only thing better than this album: is to catch them LIVE!
Feno  03/26/2013          
The Great Controversy
Pure Grit,Soul & Rock-n-Roll.Another great album by Javi Garcia.
skudyjeen  03/23/2013          
Plenty
Album Review
I don't know how he does it- but he keeps on doing it- he brings those moments we might miss into clear view and helps us hold them just a bit longer. And then he sings to us while we wait for the next one to come along. On Plenty Wilkins provides more depth and texture as he sings of the resilience it takes to hold on and of the joy of being here, right now. It's a lovely and soulful ride through Texas and the heart of Wilkins. Enjoy.
Amberly Russell  03/21/2013          
The Great Controversy
Javi Garcia’s new album The Great Controversy has been playing in my car, in my house and in my head every day for the last two weeks since I went and bought it at his last show at Austin’s own legendary Continental Club. That is the mark of a kickass album. Intricately curated songs are laced throughout this whole project, with no room for fluff. Primed to become one of the most influential songwriters this side of the moon; Garcia’s story telling par excellence is often compared to the great Steve Earle -with ample evidence in his craftsmanship of The Great Controversy. This is one you won’t regret fully supporting. So go get you some! -Amberly Russell, poet at AustinProsePauper.wordpress.com
Hogleg  03/07/2013          
The Great Controversy
Life, love and the pursuit of happiness can get pretty bloody during the journey. Javi Garcia isn’t afraid to tell such stories. “I’ve got a fire in my belly. And coal in my throat. The words that I spit. Would make most writers choke.” Javi’s latest release, The Great Controversy is his latest collection of these happy endings. Javi’s newest release The Great Controversy is act 3 to a Southern Horror. It creeps in with the familiar outro from Flood, thumping into the clapping, stomping and dirty garage guitar licks of the records first track The Sound. A song about a girl who through choices of her own isn’t the apple of her Daddy’s eye anymore. She doesn’t like to hear her fathers truth about her life choices of drug abuse and being a whore, truth hurts sometimes. Nightfall, a story of self destruction by making the same choices over and over expecting a different result.“And you fall. And you fall. Just like the last time. Your doing it again. When you crawl. When you crawl. Right back to nightfall. You just can’t win.” The title track to the record The Great Controversy, the cosmic battle between good and evil from the devils perspective with a killer honky tonk guitar lick. “You can whisper a prayer. You can shout out a hymn. But it doesn’t change the fact that your more like me than him.” Josephine is the Black Tambourine on this record. Horns, grand piano, slide guitar, shaker and more shaker. This Rolling Stones-esque track is a rock and roll jam session. “We both know baby you weren’t born to be queen. So get down honey and don’t stop until its clean. Josephine.” Savanna, a story of avenge for the rape and murder of a father’s daughter. Forgiveness from the Lord is the only refuge he seeks. Another punch you in your face, push you down, driving rhythm, To Be Free feels like a conversation with Satan about breaking free from his stranglehold. The horns, accordian and percussion in Cut Throat delivers like the theme song to a Robert Rodriguez flick. The song tells a tale of a barber or in this case barber surgeon who starts cutting the throats of his clientele with his straight razor. He ends up getting the electric chair in the end. Again, Javi and his bedtime stories. 30 Years , eventually nobody is going to give a shit about you. That is my take on it. Stick to the facts is a truth punch to the face. In a world where we are filled with lies, conspiracy and propaganda let’s try to stick to the facts. “Through spider web cracked and broken glass. I let all the world before me pass. This ruthless toothless grinning mask. Ain’t held in place with candle wax. So let’s try to stick to the facts. Try to stick to the facts. Stick to the facts.” This record sounds like Javi and the players went into a garage, shut the doors, broke the knob off, recorded this record and burnt the place to the ground. There were no survivors and no better understanding of The Great Controversy, all according to the master plan of questions without answers. Play this record loud- Hogleg
Kyle  02/02/2013          
Tomorrowland
Another awesome record! Each one has a bit of a different sound, and this one is no different. Great album.


LSM Gets Social


ocianews.com - canlı bahis siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri slot siteleri tarafbet