REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Rayfarer  06/15/2000          
Cross Canadian Ragweed
Artist Review
"Live and Loud" is truly the spirit of what a Live Recording should be. Cody Canada pulls double duty as the frontman and lead guitarist of the new CCR, and his energy will comes through your speakers into your living room. From Jerry Reed's "Amos Moses" to Gene Collier's state anthem, "Boys from Oklahoma" to Stillwater legend Bob Childer's "Headin' South"...there is not a weak track on this disc (not to mention the Jason Boland songs). If you are reading this review and will purchase two CD's this year, make the "Live and Loud at the Wormy Dog" and Jason Boland and the Stragglers, "Pearl Snaps".....
Justin Carter  06/15/2000          
Here We Go - Live
The best compilation of Pat Green's work. In my opinion one of the great Texas country CD's out there. This one does service to his fantastic shows. A must have for any Texas Music fan
Bradley Balch  06/14/2000          
Monte Montgomery
Artist Review
Well Mr. Ray, I'm glad you like Jason Boland And The Stragglers. I enjoy their music too. as a matter of fact, I met them and played with them around the campfires at Meridian this year. Being from Stillwater OK they do have the "Traditional Texas/Oklahoma" sound. Monte Montgomery is not Country at all if that is what you expected. Being a singer-songwriter myself I appreciate good writers and musicians; Monte is a tripple threat. He writes, plays, and sings styles from blues, folk, jazz influenced music as well as some deep ballads if you bothered to listen to "I Know You By Heart" on Mirrors. I first heard of him on line from a list I belong to. One if the comments was, "He makes me want to quit the guitar". Monte does more with an acoustic guitar than most will ever hope to do with an electric. I saw him at Poor David's Pub a while back and had never heard any of his music. To me he is "Jaw Dropping Incredible" and I mean that literally. At the performance I saw many people drop their jaws, look at each other and then back to the stage. The best example is during one song Monte played a long solo. He started out with flat picking, moved to nashville picking with a pick and fingers, and then ended by playing a classical style with two fingers. Needless to say he is incredible. If you have not seen him live, I suggest you should. Hopefully you haven't taken the CD back yet like you planned. That's my two cents worth. Bradley
Rayfarer  06/14/2000          
Roger Creager
Artist Review
It only takes about 5 minutes of listening to realize this CD is a winner. In fact, I haven't been able to get the words to "Fun All Wrong" and "The Everclear Song" out of my head for days. I haven't had the chance to see Roger Creager live yet, but if his show has half the energy of his CD he will be a winner there too.
Rayfarer  06/14/2000          
Adam Carroll
Artist Review
Whn first heard Adam Carroll's "Red Bandana Blues" while listening to "Skyline Radio" - a syndicated radio show played on several Oklahoma stations - I must say it knocked me out. I quickly purchased the CD and found that there were other songs on the album I liked even better. The imagery in songs like "Bubblegum" and "Smokey Mountain Taxi" made me think that Tom T. Hall was in his mid-20's and writing songs again. I know that Adam Carroll is often compared to John Prine, but I have to say that even if he never writes another song, he will be as important a song writer in years to come as Willis Alan Ramsey is now....
ANONYMOUS  06/13/2000          
Doug Moreland
Artist Review
I'VE BEEN TO SEVERAL OF DOUG'S SHOWS AND HAVE ENJOYED THEM ALL. HE INVOLVES THE CROWD AND HIS MUSIC RANGES FROM HILARIOUSLY FUNNY TO SERIOUS SONGS ABOUT LIFE...I LOVE BOTH OF HIS CD'S AND SERIOUSLY CAN'T STOP PLAYING THEM, THANKS!
B. Cain  06/13/2000          
Mark David Manders
Artist Review
Mark david's band rose to the occasion at Larry Joe Taylor's Chilifest in Meridian,TX earlier this year. His stage appearence got the party started for a throw down Nuevo Tejas style!
Dave Ray  06/13/2000          
Monte Montgomery
Artist Review
Today I was at the local CD store looking for something to tide me over until my Dub Miller CD arrives in the mail, and I happened to see "Mirror" just sitting there on the rack. I could have sworn I remember seeing Monte Montgomery on "Austin City Limits", and he seemed good at the time...so I thought I would give his new CD a listen. Lately I've been listening to Jason Boland and the Stragglers "Pearl Snaps" (I caught their show in Amarillo and they are the REAL DEAL, so if you happen to get a chance...), so I was thinking that it was about time to give something else a chance for awhile. I must say that either I slept through that Austin City Limits episode or I was thinking of someone else, because this is not the man I remember. Sure, Lloyd Maines playes a mean steel, but that is all this CD has going for it. I can only hope they will take it back tomorrow...I knew I should have just waited for Dub Miller.
Kevin  06/12/2000          
Todd Snider
Artist Review
"Happy To Be Here" is one of the best CDs that I've bought this year. Snider, one of the best young songwriters in the country, gets back to his roots on his latest release. The songs reflect his life, (he recently settled down and got married), from "Happy To Be Here" to a song about a prenuptual agreement, "Just In Case". This release is on John Prine's Oh Boy record label. So you can see definately see the Prine influence on the catchy "Keep Off The Grass".
Nate  06/11/2000          
American Troubadour
This CD is well written and a great buy between "postcard from Paris and 9 miles north of Mason" it covers all song types it is a great CD.


right-Advertisement


Odtülüler DershanesiMehmet Sacit Güran Veri Kurtarma Kiralık Ofis Ankara Ankara Kız Öğrenci Yurtları