REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Patti Derr  12/18/2014          
13th Floor Elevators
Artist Review
I heard them at Allen Landing in Houston when I was 14. Too young to go into the 2nd floor club so we "youngsters" sat on the lawn and listened to history
Cory hoover  12/11/2014          
Be Mine
When it comes to Walt and Tina Walkins, they will always get the highest rating. If you have never seen them in person, you are truly missing out. Two of the kindest souls you will ever meet.
Roustabout  11/30/2014          
A New Fence Goes Up
CJ is a badass but that picture is not THIS Colton James that's a pic of that pansy Nashville cat... not the CJ your selling the record of.
Laura bigfan... from the Alamo city  11/28/2014          
T.C. Taylor
Artist Review
captivating voice sexy stage presence I wish Blake Shelton or something like that would get a hold of a demo tape of "TC" singing "Mr. Moon" hope you're doing well! would love to hear you singing again one day! [email protected]
Dovey Price  11/17/2014          
Randy Brown
Artist Review
Randy is a snake.
FIFTH HORSEMAN  11/16/2014          
Wade Bowen
Album Review
SUN SHINES ON THIS DREAMER October 28, 2014 'If We Ever Make It Home' will remain Wade's true masterpiece forever and a day. Wade Bowen, I salute you for making the best album I've ever heard, way back in 2008. Nothing will ever surpass it. This is what authentic music should sound like. This is what authentic music should FEEL like. Heartfelt, warm, like coming home to the one you love. A love that just is, without a doubt. True love, real love, a love that's here to stay. Well, listening to his newest creation for the very first time on a dark day in October is like coming home all over again... Different year, but that very same warm love that started way back when, is still there. Same warmth, same closeness, same authenticity. 'Sun Shines On A Dreamer' is already music to these ears, a classic, after merely three spins. And then it's time to head for 'My California', and what a nice trip it is... Sundrenched, mellow, laidback, words fail me, but they don't fail Wade. 'Watch Her Drive' sounds like kinda 'inbetween' at first, but the beautifully layered harmonic chorus lifts it straight out of the ordinary and Wade's magic goes & does it again. Watch Him Drive ! 'Hungover' tastes like it a genuine sequel track that would fit right in on that dream of an album 'If We Ever Make It Home'. First few seconds take me by surprise: Wade's voice in its purest, most naked form. Husky sadness begging for a wonderful melody, tugging the strings of a heart that beats in anticipation... Melancholic electric guitar sheds a tear that slowly glistens in the moonlight, an empty bottle lies still as the moonshine sits silently in the background, casting tree branch shadows over a puddle of distant memories. So heartfelt, and yet another favorite of mine already. Wow. Not even halfway through this album and I feel I've died and gone to heaven, one way ticket, already. Life is sad, yet oh so beautiful... "I've been a drunk, I've been a dreamer..." and I'm swept off my feet yet again by the wonderful 'West Texas Rain'. Harmonies merge as the sky pours out its little heart. Vince Gill, Sean McConnell (harmonies), Audley Freed (The Black Crowes, guitar) and Fred Eltringham (Wallflowers, drums) all lend a hand. "I've been a lover, I've been a father..." "...choices that I'd like to change..." Don't you change anything about yourself, Wade. You're good to go, just keep on going. Wade Bowen is truly a huge experience in my life, and it feels like I've known him for a lifetime already. His music feels so good, and if I truly had to pick one artist amongst a cast of thousands, there would be no doubt. This is the artist that has made it big time into my world. A world of dreams, a world of emotions, a world of appreciation for the small things in life, the happiness that nature gives you when it engulfs you with its soothing rustle, come rain or shine. 'When It's Reckless' sounds like the single that kicks off this album, but then at tripled speed. Just keep on hitting that good ol' road and watch that Wade go. Nice slice of electric guitar carves that dried up asphalt right open. "Girl I got to have you now... set me on fire!" A little rough around the edges, indeed. Time to hit those brakes and chill to those nice rhytmic acoustic sun beaten strums... gathering swirling dust crumbs scattered by that previous tune that pulled every punch there was to pull, only to settle down gently upon that smooth and grainy voice timbre that is so uniquely Wade. 'Long Enough To Be A Memory'... and then some. 'Sweet Leona' tiptoes through the back door, as a passionate harmonica sweeps up those stairs, covering the steps with rose petals that gently pulsate to the rhythm of love's embedded heartbeat... No red carpets necessary, a mere 'Welcome Mat' will suffice. Wipe your feet, buckle up: more wonderful music on its way, folks. Roaring Americana style electric guitar moves to the fore, as the song breaks down only to leave this listener yearning for... more. "Miles & miles of this ol' van, things don't always go the way we plan..." Isn't that a fact, Wade! Randy Rogers, Cody Canada, and Sean McConnell (who co-wrote two songs on the 2008 'If We Ever Make It Home' album) join in on this road trip towards freedom. 'Honky Tonk Road' (originally written by Nashville producer slash studio musician Ray Stevenson) sounds like four buddies having a whale of a time, outlaw style. "Where the lights are hot but the beer is cold..." Last call, folks! Yes, Wade Bowen has finally freed himself from the shackles of commitments, breaks the restraints of ability and courage... Just watch that 'Yankee' yank his chains to shreds! This is Wade at his very best: no holds barred, return to innocence, soul/sole resurrection or to put it more simply, reset mode. No more fitting exit than 'I'm Gonna Go' (a old track written by Wade a couple of years back). Sturdy drums set the tone for a spectacular exit, and we're not talking fire escape, here. Six minutes of perseverance and one of two longest Wade tracks to date, only beaten by twenty seconds on 'Watch Her Drive'... 'I'm Gonna Go' also reveils a darker, more threatening Wade, like we've never heard before. Lowering his guard with much promise to a brandnew future, and a fitting end to a more than exciting eponymous adventure. Experimental cover artwork, bordering on both mysterious and minimalist design: a clear break with the past but in keeping with authentic tradition and timeless quality. In these throwaway times, marked by cramped styles and overblown hypes created by music media moguls spending money like it's going out of fashion, Wade Bowen proves to be a big exception to the rule. A unique, heartfelt artist maintaining his very own personality and strength throughout. If 'If We Ever Make It Home' ever were to get knocked off its pedestal, this album could very possibly be the one to do so. Until then, it's the best versatile hi-octane piece of contemporary country music I've heard in a pretty long time. Welcome back, Wade.
Grandama  11/07/2014          
Miranda Lambert
Artist Review
Ever since corporate country turned its back on the Chicks ... an angelic talented honest band...I turned my back on country cause I hate honest folks...country listeners...who turn their backs on those who speak their minds freely and honestly..passionately and wisely...as they did. Thank God another honest country gal came along to fill the void...Miranda restored my faith things just may get back on track. Talented writer; stellar lyricist; old school w/ a wide spectrum of upbeat n blusey n kick bacon tunes...doesn't git no better than this. She deserves it all and earned every stripe.
Tyler Lee  10/26/2014          
Sean McConnell
Artist Review
Saw Sean at the Red Dirt Pavillion in Buffalo Gap last night. It was the second show of his ive seen. Folks, wht you here on his records is what you get live plus some! He is by far my favorite live performance. Vocals are second to none, do yourself a favor and find o show around you, you'll leave different, I promise.
Country HQ  10/15/2014          
Around The World
Anyone who has ever been fortunate enough to have seen Raul Malo live will want this album and anyone who has never seen him live should want it even more!! Around The World comes from the man who music critic Bruce Elder (SMH) referred to as “one of the greatest voices in rock” and this album is just a testament to that compliment, of which Raul has garnered many both in his solo career and during his time with the Grammy Award winning The Mavericks. Recording the album live with the Northern Sinfonia Orchestra at the Sage Gateshead as part of the annual SummerTyne Americana Festival in 2011, Raul’s voice is showcased for all to enjoy with the sublim sounds of a full orchestra behind it, adding a whole different dimension to the songs. And what songs these are, as Raul’s flawless voice adapts to each of the tracks on this album, from his own solo material such as Lucky One and Every Little Thing About You, as well as on Dance The Night Away, the only songs featured in this set from Malo’s time fronting The Mavericks. Each song lives and breathes when Raul’s vocals are fused with the orchestra, as well as a quartet of his touring band playing along, with Michael Guerras accordion adding a Tex-Mex sound to the spectrum of strings and hornn in a combination rarely heard before. The covers on this album (selected by Malo himself as he does in most of his live shows) are where the curiosities lay. On most albums released in 2012, songs like Humperdinck’s Man Without Love, Indian Love Call and the French song “Je t’appartiens”, translated into English as the popular classic, Let It Be Me, would all seem out of place. However, it’s Raul’s interpretation and passion in his delivery of these vintage cuts that makes them seem relevant all over again. Very much like the whole album, these songs are drenched in romance and sentimentality, however they are still highly enjoyable….over and over again!! Before the night is through, the crowd was treated to rousing versions of Moonlight Kiss andGuantanamera, which is rapidly becoming a staple of the Malo live show and a regular highlight in a perfect example of an artist matching a song perfectly. The evening comes to a close with a gentle and tender rendition of the albums title track, Around The World, before the curtain falls and the fans go home. But on their way home, the crowd would be either talking about the sensational performance they just witnessed, or cuddling up to someone they love in the front seat of the car, listening to the romance in Raul’s voice by the light of the moon and the glow of radio dial. Don’t try and define Raul Malo and his music. He is not country, not jazz, not rock, not easy listening – he is nearly a genre all of his own, drawing on his strong Orbison influences and mixing them his Cuban heritage. Around The World is testament to that mixture, and when backed by the Northern Sinfonia Orchestra, becomes music for all to enjoy. This is an album to share with friends, and anyone who appreciates wonderful music will thank you for it.
Steve  09/25/2014          
Casey Berry
Artist Review
Excellent. Exceptional songs, front to back.


right-Advertisement


Odtülüler DershanesiAnkara Temel Lise Ankara Temel Lise Kiralık Ofis Ankara Ankara Kız Öğrenci Yurtları