REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Patricia  04/26/2009          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
First time I saw and heard Jimmy and his band, was at a Wine Festival New Braunfels Texas. His new record that summer was Cimarron Manifesto~ I could feel the music, and the sound was "WOW" I very seldom miss them, If they are playing within a 100 miles I will make the trip..I have a great collection of his records. I saw the Ribbon of Highway Endless Skyway, in Austin bought the record and play it all the time. What a great tribute to Woody, and what a great job putting it together. Jimmy has so much talent, how fortunate we are to have this great Singer and Song Writer and Musician here in Austin. I never tire of listening to him and his band. Along with Unique sound of his voice, "he can play that guitar, he gets in his own little world, and what an "AWESOME" world it is.. Thanks Jimmy!!
Jared Winstead  01/28/2009          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
First i would like to say i grew up listening to country and texas country music with a litle alternative rock. Although i've always been open minded to any style of music. I first heard Jimmy Lafave about 4 months ago and immediately fell in love with hi music. The feeling it puts inside of you is unlike any other stlye of music. When listening to his music you can not help but feel overwhelmed by joy. After getting into his music i can now way that i am a folk music fan and supporter. I encourage anyone who has a love for music of any kind to sit down and listen to his work, i promise you will not be diappointed. I look forward to any forward releases.
Uncle John  12/23/2008          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
I first listened to Jimmy in 1994 when Bohemian Beat released Highway Trance. I didn't think any release would ever top it, but Jimmy has become better with every release. No one can take a balled and put as much feeling into it as Jimmy can. I have been a long time Dylan fan, but Jimmy does Dylan better than Dylan. Just listen to his version of "Not Dark Yet" on Cimmeron Manifesto and you to will be transformed into a die-hard Jimmy fan. I'm lucky enough to have discoved Jimmy early on, because here in the Northwest we aren't priviledged enough to hear the real soul of music. If you're looking for the real deal don't you dare miss Jimmy LaFave, if you do you will be missing an important part of real American Music. I truly believe that Jimmy has to be discovered by the masses, he is to important of an artist and writer to be ignored.
New yorker  11/20/2006          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
Here's a review from a NEW fan of Jimmy's... he said it better than I ever could... "Jimmy mentions the names of his influences often in his work. In my opinion he has eclipsed or surpassed them!!. His own material is as good as anything ever written. His interpretations of other peoples work are phenominal. He`s turned songs that I liked, into songs that haunt me (ie: "Walk Away Renee", "San Fransisco"). I`m a long time Dylan fan, but the melodies that Jimmy can wring out of Bob`s songs make the originals redundant!. Sorry Bob, but you`re probably a Jimmy fan too !!. I`d compare Jimmy`s unique vocal delivery to Willie Nelson`s guitar style. Totally original, defying all constraints, & straight from heaven (& I`m not religious!). It`s amazing how he can switch from Rock to Blues to Folk to that "Red dirt" country/bluegrass sound.His backup bands are without parallel. God, I sound like a gushing fan !. Well, guess I am. If you`ve gotta have an "idol", you could do much worse. Which brings me to the question, "Why do most people not know who he is" ?. GOD BLESS ELVIS, & JIMMY LAFAVE !!! (not necessarily in that order!)." Ditto on that...My fav. of his is "rain falling down" is gives me chills EVERY time... Jimmy..."Glory halleluhiah you are sight for sore eyes" (sorry charlene you dont know what ur missing)
Doc  08/21/2006          
Blue Nightfall
Hands down, a GREAT album. Jimmy is flawless live and you can really see and feel the passion he has for his music. This is a great album. Buy it.
Vinny The Shark  03/25/2006          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
Charlene... Are you serious? Slacks? Vinny's never heard Jimmy LaFave's stuff, so he won't comment on that, but Slacks? Maybe Tom Jones or Wayne Newton are more your speed. Vinny can just see Cody Canada or Shooter Jennings up on stage in a pair of Khaki Dockers with a nicely tucked in buttoned down light blue long sleeved shirt. Slacks? If you don't like the music, that's fine, but to bitch about the guy not wearing Slacks? Wow, that's a first!! Have a nice Ragweed Day!!!
charlene  03/24/2006          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
I saw my first LaFave concert tonight and I must say I was disappointed. The lyrics were virtually undecipherable and all the songs sounded the same. Some a little faster or slower or louder or softer but not really much of a difference at all. And he mumbles so the names of his musicians were also undecipherable. (I came to this web site hoping to find out more about his keyboard guy, who was fantastic. But none of the LaFave sites I have seen say one word about the other musicians.) And I wish that performers these days would get the message that the grunge look is out, and just wear a pair of slacks and a shirt. These guys looked like they just came in from washing the car and were going to clean out the garage when they were through. Their grunginess was distracting.
Dylan fan from OH  01/21/2006          
Trail One
Album Review
One of the true gems in my collection. So many artists who try to cover Dylan are simply not up to the task...they should stop here for a listen. Even relatively lightweight Dylan songs like "I Threw It All Away" are given a new lease. And the originals - try "How It Must Remain" are breathtaking. These cuts are taken from a variety of sources so sound quality varies, but don't let that stop you. Absolutely essential.
red dragon  01/18/2006          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
This CD is proof that singer-songwriters should NEVER, NEVER produce their own records. Lafave has been getting away with inarticulate, mannered vocal performances for years and this performance is no exception. The material overall is weak, with the exception of Gretchen Peter's "Revival" which is ruined by an annoying sustained organ note. The skill level overall of Lafave's players seems to have dropped considerably, with the exceptions of Warren Hood and Gurf Morlix. It sounds like Lafave is attempting a particularly bad version of a JJ Cale record, but without decent lyrics, arrangements or soul- it simply sounds like slop. His previous CD, Texoma, at least had a very good drummer and an exceptional keyboardist to recommend it, even if it was overlong with about 5 too many covers. Overall, this is disappointing, since Red House has a reputation for putting out decent records...
Dave-n-Tampa  01/04/2006          
Jimmy LaFave
Artist Review
I Saw this awesome performer on Mountain Stage TV show a couple years ago on PBS. I went out and bought Texoma and fell in love with his music. Bus To St Cloud really moved me I heard Jimmy @ Skippers in Tampa and now own all seven Albums he has out! One pure ballader bluesman and Rocker, his voice has such range. "Its gone" on Blue NightFall is a tribute to Native Americans...


right-Advertisement


Erotik HD Video