REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Tom  01/23/2009          
Texas Sapphires
Artist Review
As a native Texan who grew up in a farming and ranching family during the 60's I know a little about country music. These guys are the best around. I have just about worn out "Valley so Steep". It is truly a masterpiece. I honestly think the Texas Sapphires are the best traditional country band on the planet.
Kent  05/05/2007          
Valley So Steep
Listened to the live set online, Great stuff!
also an SA honky tonker  01/31/2007          
Texas Sapphires
Artist Review
hey man I agree, I was at Floores too and this band is pretty dang good, I totally dig the cd and I often stream the kut.org live show, good stuff all around, give them a chance and buy it!
San Antone Honky Tonker  09/21/2006          
Valley So Steep
These guys are the real deal. I saw them at Gruene Hall a couple weeks ago and they shredded with the intensity of a punk band but played country expertly, with precision and soul. Billy Brent, who shares lead vox duties with Rebecca Lucille, is a veteran tele picker (used to see him with Nathan Hamilton) but plays acoustic in this band. The CD is about as good as it gets but you must see the band live to really appreciate the energy. They are theee current purveyors of cool in the Texas Music scene.
rick  08/03/2006          
Valley So Steep
i just posted a brief note on this great band the other day. but i was listening to "valley so steep" again and decided i liked it so much it deserved a review of its own. if you enjoy vibrant country&western twang with a touch of cowpunk and rockabilly, these guys (and a gal) will make your day. the lyrics are slyly humorous, and the music is everything gram parsons' dreamed of when he spoke of an easily-recognizable, essentially american kind of music.
Gregg  08/01/2006          
Valley So Steep
I don't see what the fuss is about with this band... the music is OK but the vocals are very weak, especially the girl singer. To me they're just the flavor of the week, another Austin band trying to be hip by playing old-school country. None of their songs really knocked me out either.
Rick  08/01/2006          
Texas Sapphires
Artist Review
This band is the realization of what Gram Parson's had in mind with his idea of cosmic american music. It swings, rocks, and twangs in equal measure. I love it, and so will anyone who is looking for pure American music.
Steph  06/19/2006          
Texas Sapphires
Artist Review
I also saw these guys open for Dwight a couple months ago. They had the place dancin and ready for Dwight when he got on stage. Just picked up a copy of the CD and can't wait to hear it!
Mike  05/11/2006          
Texas Sapphires
Artist Review
These guys are simply put great. GREAT! Have seen them a few times around town and picked up their CD at their release show. The record rocks and they just have a good sound, original and vinage at the same time.
Gram Fan  04/27/2006          
Valley So Steep
No wonder the critics and folks around Texas are going nuts for this band! This stuff is totally new and refreshing and retro at the same time. Saw them open for Dwight Yoakam at John T. Floore recently and they were amazing. Check 'em out!!


right-Advertisement


Erotik HD Video