REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


George in Portland  06/15/2006          
Jon Dee Graham
Artist Review
If you haven't heard his music or seen him live, you are missing out in a big, BIG way. His lyrics, delivery and presence are matched only by his guitar playing prowess. Thank you Jon for many hours of listening pleasure.
miguelito  08/20/2005          
Escape from Monster Island
Jon Dee just isn't capable of putting out a weak CD. Another great, great recording by one of Austin's best.
miguelito  08/20/2005          
Summerland
Album Review
This one would get 5 Stars if but for "October" alone. Buy it for that and dig the rest. Not a bad song in the bunch.
miguelito  08/20/2005          
Great Battle
One of the best CD's ever recorded by anyone, anywhere, anytime. That said, "The Great Battle" deserves the buzz it generated -- Best CD by the Austin critics and in the Top 5 of the 50 Best CD's released in 2004 according to "No Depression" magazine. Certainly no argument there. A mature piece of work by an intellegent songwriter. This one will get under your skin and stay there.
miguelito  08/20/2005          
Hooray For the Moon
Could not disagree more with the previous reviewer. In fact, I'm not entirely sure we were listening to the same CD. A solid piece of work by one of the best. And as for Keltner's drumming, other drummers should be able to "phone it in" the way he does! I find the drumming outstanding. Oh well, perhaps the other reviewer would be well served to Q-Tip the wax out of his/her ears. This is a great CD by anyone's measure.
miguelito  08/20/2005          
Hooray For the Moon
Could not disagree more with the previous reviewer. In fact, I'm not entirely sure we were listening to the same CD. A solid piece of work by one of the best. And as for Keltner's drumming, other drummers should be able to "phone it it" the way he does! I find the drumming outstanding. Oh well, perhaps the other reviewer would be well served to Q-Tip the wax out of his/her ears. This is a great CD by anyone's measure.
Miguelito  08/19/2005          
First Bear On The Moon
Great EP by one of Austin's greatest musicians. Five tracks recorded with Andrew Duplantis at KUT-FM in Austin on Inauguration Day, 2005. The acoustic set contains songs from "The Great Battle", one of the best CD's by anyone, anywhere...ever! The last three tracks are new songs that appear here for the first time, including the closer,"Betrayed", a not so subtle song about his former label, New West Records. This is a great self-released CD on the Freedom label. Get it!
Eric  02/01/2005          
Jon Dee Graham
Artist Review
I you ever get a chance to see this guy, especially at his home club in Austin "the Continental Club" you absolutely must do it. And, if the closest you can come is to listen to one of his albums, well, then you absolutely must do that. Tom Waits/John Hiatt songwriting ability and lyrics; and plays a mean Texas guitar. Outstanding.
Wayne  03/30/2004          
Jon Dee Graham
Artist Review
4.5 stars is more like it
Deepa Athle  03/29/2004          
Jon Dee Graham
Artist Review
I saw Jon Dee on a SXSW Saturday at the Saxon Pub. On the Wednesday right after, I found myself looking up his schedule. He was on at the Continental Club that same night. Let's just say I went. Buy the album. Or tell them you died of sensory deprivation.


right-Advertisement


Erotik HD Video