REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Orange Lion  06/19/2009          
Tinderbox **FB Sale**
This is the worst Fred Eaglesmith albumn EVER! Fred needs to spend his last 6 dollars on a bottle of whiskey and find an old John Deere tractor and get drunk. Fred needs to Backslide real quick before his next albumn. No Offense Fred I love you and each artist goes through changes. But come on how do you go from Millys Cafe to this? Three good songs tops.
roscoebeauregard  02/17/2009          
Fred Eaglesmith
Artist Review
simply put: get you agi suckin chikin killin dawg outta my yard...or else eye will run him over with my karma. one of the best lyricists south of the canadian border...(ghota yew) (google)roscoebeauregard.blogspot.com where I pasty my proze-ack, swamp bovine verse infused with a muscadine twist.
al villalobos  11/20/2008          
Fred Eaglesmith
Artist Review
We caught Fred at the Church in San Antonio, I have his CDís but never saw him in person. It was amazing, great song and non stop humor. We were in stitches with his tales of College Station. The next day I sent him an email to thank him for the opportunity. He will move you with his songs and you can relate to his words, he is a must see in concert
Alysssaaa  05/27/2008          
Fred Eaglesmith
Artist Review
Oh!!!! I SO wish that *I* was just discovering Fred!!!! What a treasure. I'm a Canadian and have had the pleasure to see Fred and The Flying Squirrels many times. He just keeps on getting better. Washboard Hank has moved on and Willie Bennett had medical issues a year ago. I always think of Fred and his songs as 'Country for the Intelligentsia' He has an amazing sense of humour that comes across in his songs but REALLY spins your pigtails when you see him live. That man can tell a story! IF you EVER get an opportunity to see Fred Eaglesmith ..particularily in a small venue.. get a ticket and go. You are in for a truly GREAT show! I am truly a FredHead. It's time to get a gun!
Randy  03/18/2008          
Tinderbox **FB Sale**
This CD is an incredible combination of energies.....some call it alt-gospel, some say alt-country, some Americana. I say it is a flat out amazing CD from one of the top singer/songwriters in the world,no matter what you call it.
Keith Geil  01/19/2007          
Fred Eaglesmith
Artist Review
I am retired truck driver from South Carolina. I have seen Fred Eaglesmith twice in the last three weeks...Asheville NC and Greenville SC concerts. Fred is the real deal, and am proud to be acquainted with such a talented and authentic human being. Fred's music and personality resonate the working men's souls of North America.
huck  10/20/2006          
Fred Eaglesmith
Artist Review
You can NEVER go wrong with any of Fred's cd's. He's a brilliant songwriter. Each cd has it's own mood and feel. As for live shows, you'd be hard pressed to find a better act....anywhere.
dggfwtx  06/10/2006          
Milly's Cafe
This isn't one of Fred's great albums, but then, you can't go wrong with any Fred CD. There's still some great work here. The trucking song "18 Wheels" is a real standout. "Sign on the Wall," about a couple's failed tow-truck venture, is another great one. I also really like "Rocky" and "Tired." But Fred, what's up with all the *SAAAAD* cowboy songs? The title track (especially here in Texas, as it's about a couple on the run in West Texas) and "Mrs. Hank Williams" would seem destined to be the airplay songs off this disc, but I would not consider either to be among Fred's better work. This CD probably will have broader appeal than Fred's previous studio release, "Dusty," but many of the songs are along the same line, but without the funky arrangments on "Dusty." Although I like "Milly's Cafe," I just get the feeling that Fred was too entrenched in his comfort zone for this one. There's nothing that stretches his boundaries or makes you say "Wow." But it's still a nice piece of work for Fred fans to add to their collections. For newcomers (and Fred is one of the greatest songwriters EVER), I'd recommend going with either or both of the two "Official Bootleg" live releases. Fred is really at his best live rather than in the studio.
Brian Burns  12/19/2005          
Fred Eaglesmith
Artist Review
Fred's the real deal, folks. It just doesn't get any better.
Pantsfiddler  12/03/2004          
Fred Eaglesmith
Artist Review
Fred Eaglesmith is as good as it gets!!! One of the truly great and gifted songwriters around. Fred, Robert Earle Keene, Jim Lauderdale, Kieth Sykes, Ray Wylie Hubbard and there are many other good ones but these are my favorites


right-Advertisement


Erotik HD Video