REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Winchester  01/08/2009          
Sex and Gasoline
From the moment I first heard the title track on the radio, I knew I was buying this. Nothing else on the CD sounds like it, but .... The closing track will be played at my wake.
J. BLAKE THOMPSON  10/06/2007          
Rodney Crowell
Artist Review
YOU ARE MY SONGWRITING HERO....I HAVE SOME SONGS TO GIVE YOU AND SOME THAT NEED YOUR HELP COMPLETEING.....E MAIL ME....THE 5 MILE BAND RULES!!!!!
racefan243  06/12/2006          
Outsider
Album Review
The Obsenity Prayer is the best song on the radio in Oklahoma on KKNG 93.3
kman  03/25/2006          
Rodney Crowell
Artist Review
the best songwriter i ever hear next to dac and gary stewart
John Harvey  01/20/2006          
Outsider
Album Review
I'm not much of a RC fan, to be honest. I bought 'The Houston Kid', which I like a lot. Then I heard 'Don't get me started' off this new album and I immediately bought it. For me, it's one of those CDs that doesn't have a bad track - a rarity, in other words. I can see that purists might say it's over-produced but, in my view, everything about it is first class - playing, song quality and production. A gem.
ventas  07/24/2005          
Outsider
Album Review
I heard his song Dont get me started on BBC and it is great.
dwjohnson  03/13/2005          
Rodney Crowell
Artist Review
one of the best songwriters out there. songs like "stars on the water" and "houston kid" are timeless classics. his latest "earthbound" is great. glad to see it get a little are time on cmt. good stuff.
Ex-Rodney Fan  02/20/2005          
Notorious Cherry Bombs
Rodney Crowell used to be one of my favorites till he made this abortion of a CD
Dodge  12/13/2004          
Rodney Crowell
Artist Review
Great Album, I hope that he comes to play in Holland, in Paradiso Amsterdam I suggest.
Jeff Hopson  11/03/2004          
Rodney Crowell
Artist Review
I have loved the music and art of the singer/songwriter since being introduced, by my parents, to the music of Hank Williams Sr. Coming up in rural East Tennessee, and then later coming to the Dallas, Texas area has put me in contact with the very best of real music and Rodney Crowell has had as big an impact on me as any I've encountered. When Diamonds & Dirt hit the airwaves and charts I began to notice this guy that I'd heard of (his songs covered by others) but didn't know much about. When I heard "Couldn't Leave You If I Tried" I thought, "Damn, there's Nashville's best kept secret." 4 or 5 self-written/produced/performed #1's later Crowell is the stuff Texas legends are made of. If you're just now exploring Rodney Crowell and you're coming from the Americana angle, I recommend "The Houston Kid" and "Fate's Right Hand"; you will be blown away. If you've been in Nashvegas and coming from that perspective, check out "Diamonds & Dirt", "The Keys to the Highway" (too awesome for words) and the poignant "Life Is Messy". AFter this point it gets a little stagnant as Crowell was trying to please his major label with "commercial" music, but then in 2000 Rodney's muse came knockin' and he answered. Now Rodney writes and records to please Rodney, and I, for one, am thrilled to see the Houston Kid back in top form, showing the upstarts how it's done.


LSM Gets Social