REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Sharon  11/27/2017          
Johnny Bush
Artist Review
The best that ever was, that is, or will be. A talent unequivocally unmatched, a sound remarkedly unique, but JB will pass through our lifetime like no other and for the most part, without much whoop or pizazz, but believe me, he's a once in a life time event to come our way....you'll not see another like him. Just take the time to closely watch and listen and you might be lucky enough to see the amazing web he weaves as he sings!! You'll not even even be aware of others around in a room full of people. Yeah, those folks dancing hear the music they do that two step to but they aren't watching and listening!! That's one reason I like going by myself so I can watch and listen to his charisma and his voice as he sings and so smoothly spins his web. As a friend so aptly put it, The Legend is a Weave Master!!!
Sharon  11/27/2017          
Johnny Bush
Artist Review
Without a doubt, the purest honky tonk voice ever to come out of Texas, delivering pure country authenticity with that rare result of a mix of a great voice, superb craftsmanship and a sky-high emotional intelligence that sells any song with power, making his a very unique sound. Many up and coming musicians try following in his footsteps as he's such a highly regarded elder they all look up to with ultimate esteem. I believe he has a talent that goes much further than just talent. When he gets on stage there's seems to be an unparalleled uniqueness about him, I believe him to be a true one of a kind. He's probably the least flashy artist to ever step on a stage but once he gets started, that amazing charisma is electrafying....his music and that voice magnetically keep you drawn in to his unique sound!! Oh, did I mention that I'm a Johnny Bush fan? 😂🤣
CHIP  06/15/2007          
Johnny Bush
Artist Review
The greatest HONKY TONK performer ever. Bar none CHIP NALL FOREVER COUNTRY BAND
A Career Album of Bush's Career  03/31/2007          
Kashmere Gardens Mud
Though Bush's commercial flame was doused by an early-70s vocal problem, his reputation remained strong. Key compositions, including "Whiskey River" and "There Stands the Glass," helped sustain Bush's legacy during his performing absence, but his presence was felt even when his songs weren't on the charts. His place in Texas honky-tonk, something he took up in the late '50s, has been referenced and quoted ever since. Amazingly, after decades without a voice, new medical treatments have brought Bush back to the studio for this superb life retrospective. Recorded as an audio companion to an autobiography published by the University of Texas, the songs reflect on Bush's personal and musical lives, and the life of music in his native Houston. The sessions, recorded primarily at the legendary SugarHill Studio, pull together players and songs with a connection to the Bayou City, mixing new compositions with Houston linked classics. The fifteen tracks (fourteen listed, plus a bonus reworking of Mickey Gilley's 1956 rockabilly "Ooh Wee Baby," the original of which featured Bush on drums) are woven from several strong threads. Jesse Dayton and band (of nearby Beaumont) provide the backing for a pair of songs with a Mexicali edge: Dale Watson's "Tequila and Teardrops" (with Watson on harmony vocal) and a cover of "Pancho and Lefty" featuring a duet with one of Bush's earliest musical amigos, Willie Nelson. Nelson's "Bloody Mary Morning" features great picking from guitarist Dayton and his steel player, Brian Thomas. A second musical thread is the brass of the Calvin Owens Blues Orchestra, swinging through "Free Soul" and a sophisticated arrangement of the classic "Born to Lose." Owens' trumpet solo introduces a scorching guitar lead from Dayton on "Free Soul," providing crossover between the two sessions. Bush dips further into Willie Nelson's catalog for one of the writer's earliest successes, "Family Bible," and the pair duet live (with Nelson's characteristic gut-string guitar as accompaniment) on "Send Me the Pillow That You Dream On." Bush also duets with Floyd Tillman (shortly before his passing in 2005) on the light western swing of "They Took the Stars Out of Heaven." This is a multidimensional project, knitting together newly produced recordings with a few earlier sessions, mixing new compositions like the superb title tune with country classics, and interspersing guest vocalists and backing bands. And just like a fine quilt, you can gaze upon the detail of a single patch, or step back and marvel at the beauty of the whole. This is a superb statement from a country legend whose artistic vision survived decades without a voice. [2007 redtunictroll at hotmail dot com]
Deric Shaw  08/08/2006          
Texas State Of Mind
One can always count on Johnny Bush for some honky tonkin', crying, drinking, flat out, real country music. That's exactly what's on his new album Texas State of Mind. Where does he constantly find such great songs? It doesn't get much more country than this!!
Cpl. JHood, USMC  01/08/2006          
Johnny Bush
Artist Review
Johnny's music, especially "Undo the Right and Each Time." traveled with me in the valley of the tall grasses in Vietnam in 1969-70, music does transends an unlifting spirit anywhere ones' heart travels. I love the old classics and they never grow old to this old ears and heart. We left our souls in Vietnam but the songs we love redeems a struggling mind, thanks Johnny.
John  11/24/2004          
Johnny Bush
Artist Review
I just bought Honky Tonic and I just want to keep listening to it over and over again. It is some beer drinking two stepping music, let me tell you. I just wish he toured more.
aaron  01/24/2003          
Johnny Bush
Artist Review
I'll be damned, but there isn't even one Bob Wills song on here. I see among the writers are Acuff Rose, Cindy Walker, Buck Owens, Steve Mallett, but no Bob Wills. I got this album based on the review that said Johnney Bush was doing a bunch of Bob Wills songs. Apparently someone is not too familiar with what western swing is. Denny Mathis - hall of fame steel player - is on this album. Bobby Flores fiddle - is on this album. Buddy Emmons - hall of fame pedal steel player - is on this album. Johnny Bush, doing Johnny Bush - is on this album. How can you hear Johnny's voice and think Bob Wills? Nothing against Bob Wills but it's like saying this album is nothing but a bunch of Hank Williams songs. Ridiculous. This is a country music album, not a Texas music album. All those who are in to the Texas/Red Dirt sound will be severely disappointed. This living legend and these musicians are light years ahead of any so called Texas music. Superb songs done by suburb people. Johnny rocks.
Jimmy D.  01/10/2003          
Sings Bob Wills
Singing Bob Wills is an accurate title of this cd. It sounds like he just takes old songs and puts new lyrics to them. If you listen you can clearly hear the music for "Rolly Polly." Also, you can clearly hear "Sant Clause is Coming to Town." I admire his spirit. I am glad that he appreciates the music of Bob Wills, but it's just not that good.
David Powell  04/09/2002          
Green Snakes
Album Review
I would just like to say that Mr. Bush has released another fine album. I just bought it and I have almost driven my wife crazy by playing it over and over. the CD has a great mix of Honky Tonk classic and songs like Dos Tacos that just make you want to crack a cold one with your buddies. I really enjoyed the tid bits inside the cover and I just think it is a great album. I actually met Mr. Bush again when I bought it and he was a gracious and funny as ever. I can't recommend it enough. oh lest I mention the remake of Green snakes is great. thanks for another classic and for just being you.


LSM Gets Social