REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Bill Wells  09/01/2009          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
I received Cotton yesterday and listened to it 3 time in a row and loved it more each time. After Pretty World and Mercy I was afraid Cotton wouldn't measure up but it's a beautiful C.D.
Nick  06/22/2009          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
Really looking forward to seeing Sam live in the UK in sept 09,heard im on Bob Harris show & was an instant fan,also cant wait for the new album.
Gary in Rochester  07/30/2008          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
Ditto to David, Poppy and Johncat below. Great songwriting and live performance still mean something in TX, don't they? If that's true, then Sam is king. Listen to him sing "Waves" and try to not be moved. His fans don't throw beer on each other at salsa festivals. And that's kind of the point, I think.....
Johncat  06/08/2008          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
For the few that have had a negative reaction to Sam's work, I have to say "Get a Soul", Maybe it's an age-related taste but the guy is a poet. In the age of over-produced, over-promoted drivil, he is as refreshing as an August rain in Texas. I saw him live not knowing what to expect and he slayed me.
Poppy  03/06/2008          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
Had to visit Texas (and US) for the first time three weeks ago, and no time to see anything other than freeways and diners. Got home, surprised to miss the place, then heard 'Orphan' thanks to Johnnie Walker on BBC R2. Had never heard of Sam Baker. Went and ordered 'Pretty World' straight away. It's the most beautiful, real, musically and vocally brilliant album I've heard in years. I'm so happy to have been here to hear this. Thank you Sam.
David  02/17/2008          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
Sam Baker is the real deal, y'all. Combine the humor of Robert Earl Keen with the lyrics of Townes Van Zandt and the voice of John Prine and you have barely scratched the surface this musical genius. His music draws you in and slays you. The man can turn a lyric like few can these days. When he comes around and does a show in your town, check him out. The man is a master story. Pop a cold one, sit back, and enjoy.
Pete & Sally Engaland  12/05/2007          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
Sam is performer not to be missed, he has just started taking the UK by storm. His words and music are so moving youíve just got to see him. Having had the privilege last night in West Sussex, thanks to hosts Acoustic Sussex we met Sam, it was like meeting your best friend for the first time, instant relationship! He is absolutely one of the best, Sam must return to the UK with his third album and remain here! Amazing, Brilliant, Inspiring what an experience, just unforgettable. Cheers Pete & Sally.
dave tate,south londonn,england.  09/27/2007          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
I'm struggling for words here I loved "Mercy"God what a voice plus those SONGS.About two weeks ago I got"Pretty World" hand on heart I'm a babbling idiot this CD is,well I struggle to find words.The first time I played it I was nearly SICK with joy.thanks sam
jamesf  08/17/2007          
Sam Baker
Artist Review
his voice is really cool...really liked Pretty World.
Bt Cat  08/15/2007          
Pretty World
Album Review
Sam's taking the Americana music world by storm right now. His 2 releases have garnered a ton of attention and you can bet your boots this guy's gonna be the next Guy Clark. Those are mighty big words but that's exactly what's happening right now. It's nice to see because it's only once in a blue moon that a musician with this gift comes along. If you read his bio, you'll be inspired as here's a fellow who was blown apart by a bomb overseas ( which is why he now plays the guitar opposite handed). He's also a great person. Get on board with this guy; you won't be sorry.


LSM Gets Social