REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


Chad Boyd   05/16/2011          
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
Poetic, with a definate sense of history, spirituality, humanity, and life. He puts the most complicated parts of life into easy terms and and brings out the complexity of the everyday life. A true artist and a real person. His songs reflect his art, intellect, and his humanity. A true joy. And inspiration.
hansen  01/11/2011          
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
This is one helluva take on Red Dirt, Americana, country-rock, whatever you wanna call it ... the songwriting kicks, the backing band is awesome and the whole thing just feels right. Early candidate for Album Of The Year!
chris edwards  12/31/2010          
Mike Ethan Messick
Artist Review
Incredibly gifted songwriter and singer. His first record would be worth the price of admission if it only contained "Olive-Skinned Girl" and "Kings of Juarez." His new one will be equally badass for sure!
Jeremy Steding - Austin, TX  08/11/2009          
Mike Ethan Messick
Artist Review
One of the best albums I have. "First of October" is one of my favorite songs in the world. Can you believe this cat also wrote Everclear for Roger Creager? About the most talented songwriter I know, I look forward to the next album.
WOW!  02/13/2009          
Mike Ethan Messick
Artist Review
What is not to like about this cd? The lyrics, the sound quality, the band...I feel like I just got done watching several mini movies every time I spin this one in its entirety. Also, though I love the Everclear song, I am so glad that Mike took a different direction, and avoided covering his own tune (that Roger Creager made famous) -- not that it wouldn't be great, but it shows a lot of maturity (and also leaves more room for more of the masterfully written songs on this disc!) Actually caught a sample track somewhere else, but ended-up buying the disc here, and am glad I did. Only problem - it keeps mysteriously disappearing from my disc player...and ending up in my girlfriend's changer! Maybe it's time to get a second copy?! Or a new girlfriend. :)
AM  06/28/2008          
Mike Ethan Messick
Artist Review
Definitely one of the best-sounding and best-written debut CDs in the Texas Country field ... this guy should be a star, or at least an underground hero. Maybe he already is ...
David  06/03/2008          
Bootlegger's Turn
Great album.It reminds me of early Randy Rogers writing with a Steve Earle depth. Keep up the good work.
Winston  11/21/2007          
Mike Ethan Messick
Artist Review
"I bummed around Coushatta, drinkin' free Cuba Libres/Bet my ass on a fistful of dice/And I thought about the soldiers, with blood on their spears/Casting lots for the garments of Christ". Deep stuff. How many writers would even think of something like that? I'd love to see this guy go far, I think he really has something to say and isn't in it just for the party.
Ben Hall  11/07/2007          
Mike Ethan Messick
Artist Review
Messick has a gift; a voice that resonates with those blessed enough to perceive the beauty of carefully chosen words backed by solid rhythm and true emotion. He authentically captures scenes, epiphanies, and heartbreaks while rendering meaning through his art. If youíve ever met the man you know he has been crafting his music all these years for all the right reasons, personally he stands as a beacon amidst the ubiquitous fly by night sheep in the music scene. So I say thank you Ethan for staying true to your talent, may you and your music thrive.
Seth  10/24/2007          
Mike Ethan Messick
Artist Review
I'm gonna be a little partial here as I've had the pleasure of sharing the stage with this guy. But I'm from the land of John Mellencamp and damned if this isn't the best Mellencamp album I've heard since the 80s...Actually, that probably makes it sound derivative when it's wholly original. Well-written heartland twang-rock. The stories here are real and true and touching at times and the musical compliment is a bit understated at times, but only to bring out the dynamics. Great stuff.


LSM Gets Social