REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


The Point  12/20/2016          
Walt Wilkins
Artist Review
Streetlight is as good as anything Walt has ever done. And given his body of work, that is saying something. Get one for yourself, your friends..and folks you want to be your friends.
Priest  05/05/2015          
Walt Wilkins
Artist Review
Walt in any configuration, Mystiqueros, Tina & Him, Solo, Nashville Band..., is a prize to be cherished. Such a professional in every way. Presentation, lyrics, guitar, vocals..... I always leave with a better outlook on life.
Mick in Virginia  03/24/2013          
Walt Wilkins
Artist Review
I beg to differ with the "Music Maverick". I travel long distances to see Walt Perform and have never been disapointed. I can barely wait for his annual trek to the New York area so I can travel 600 miles from Virginia to see him again. Planning a trip to Texas soon and will ensure I can see him perform at least twice on the trip. Always worth the travel.
Ed  03/23/2013          
Walt Wilkins
Artist Review
Walt's latest solo album "Plenty" is one of those records that doesn't come along very often. By that I mean there is not one song that you even want to skip and when it comes back around to track one, you will want to listen to it all over again. My favorites..."Rain All Night" the line "in a while, we'll be up and at 'em, throwing ourselves at the day", just jumps out at me..&.."Maybe Everybody Quit Cheating", "maybe it's the slow season, maybe everybody quit cheating" Buy this record and anything else with Walt Wilkins' name on it, you won't be disappointed!
Nashville Cat  03/23/2013          
Walt Wilkins
Artist Review
I know Texas music lovers are happy that Walt is back where he belongs, but we sure do miss him in Nashville. Those of you who follow Walt's music understand you are listening to a remarkable musician and story teller who sings about his life's journey -- from the anguish, despair, and hopelessness of Ruby's 2 sad daughters, to the simple, soulful love song, "Something like heaven." He understands that special moments can change destiny. He has a Faulknerian view of time. And yet he is still discovering with the eye of a child -- have you listened to Under the Cottonwood tree lately? As Walt matures as an artist, he reminds me, and I hope he reminds all of us, its not riches, its not what we've got right now, it's not where we are trying to get to. It's about "Love hanging heavy on the vine," and the simple joy of of just being. Thank you, Walt for doing what you do -- we all benefit. If none of this makes sense, please listen to Plenty, and then it will.
Music Maverick  02/05/2013          
Walt Wilkins
Artist Review
Had heard lots of hype and some was true and some ...well underwhelmed. Think maybe has been doing this for so long , he has lost some of the freshness and is into rote performance. That said, did enjoy a few of the songs and his voice while good on some tunes not so much on the other. Worth going to see but not a long drive.
The Point, The Closer and the Missus  05/19/2012          
Plenty
Album Review
What an amazing collection of songs. With Strother Martin stealing the scene right in the middle. No failure to communicate here. The opener "Sit Right Here" sets the tone for a listening session guaranteed to make you smile, remember old friends and be thankful in general. All things Walt's music can help you do when you need it most. To try to single out any one or 2 songs would be an injustice to the rest on this record. So: Just buy it and smile, remember old friends and be thankful in general that Walt writes these songs. Oh and buy many and give them to people who could use a smile.
Bud  08/07/2010          
Walt Wilkins
Artist Review
Just really got into this Wilkins cat recently. In 3 months, I've bought everything he's ever recorded. "Agave" is flat out great. Now I see he's doing an east coast tour in my neck of ther woods. Is this a great country or what?!
Mike  05/08/2010          
Agave
Album Review
Night Train, the next-to-last cut, may be the most contaigous song in a long time. Impossible to not find yourself humming it an hour after it ends. Bill Small is a really, really, really terrific vocalist. And nice to hear the "Vince Gill With Fangs", Marcus Eldridge, join in the fun. John Greenberg's "Porcelain Heart" is the best love song on the CD and his vocals are perfect for it. Ray Rodriguez sounds like he was at the top of his game on every song on this record. Which brings us to Big Daddy: WW. Could you imagine any other artist taking his name off the band's name...and just going with the band name? (Notice it's from "The Mystiqueros"...not "Walt Wilkins and The Mystiqueros") That's how much he believes in this great band. The man is an even better person than he is a writer, singer & picker. AND THAT is saying something. Go to every show you can and buy this record. Go on....get going.
Kasey  04/27/2010          
Agave
Album Review
Absolutely brilliant. I actually had people asking me what I was smiling about the first time I ran through the CD, and I hadn't even realized that I was. Everyone should do themselves a favor and spend their money on an amazing CD with amazing group of artists. It is completely worth it and will remind you that not all music is turning to junk these days. Thank you Mystiqueros!


right-Advertisement


Eryaman Odtülüler Dershanesi