REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


BlainesPub  10/07/2009          
Lovely Creatures
Great CD!
Groover  07/17/2007          
Californian
Excellent album, as I expected from the Bobster; this is the heaviest I have heard from him (Disclaimer: I have not heard his stuff w/ the Scabs, Ugly Americans, or Joe Rockhead). Check out 'Get Up On It','Game Plan', 'Holding In the World','Miss Oblivion' and the title cut for a good taste of just what the hell this is. Too good to pass up if you are looking for something to Kick Out the Jams & Rock the Block...not for the weak-kneed sensitive limp-wristed emo crowd.
Groover  07/05/2007          
Bob Schneider
Artist Review
Excellent album, as I expected from the Bobster; this is the heaviest I have heard from him (Disclaimer: I have not heard his stuff w/ the Scabs, Ugly Americans, or Joe Rockhead). Check out 'Get Up On It','Game Plan', 'Holding In the World' and the title cut for a good taste of just what the hell this is. Too good to pass up.
gemerman  01/03/2007          
Bob Schneider
Artist Review
I saw Bob Live in Austin in 2002 rather by accident and not in the mood for live stuff, but that changed within a few minutes after Bob and The Scabs got on stage. Since then I've been a devoted Bob fan and grab everything I can get my hands on. Until now my favourite album was "Lonelyland", since I'm an audio engineer and the recording is prestine. But "The Californian" blew me away. Now I'm not sure which one I like best. Again, from an engineer's point of view it's fantastic, but this time Bob went into a totally different direction. (Not that he's not done that before, but he's never done a whole album that way) It's groovy, rocky, bluesy, funky and everything else under the sun. Love it and listen to it frequently. Please, visit Ottawa, Canada soon, since I can't come a see you in Austin all the time. Cheers and make more good music.
spinwilly  11/11/2006          
Californian
Another classic. I can't find a song on this relaese that I don't like. It's loaded with punchy poprockfunkblues tracks which provide the foundation for Bob's powerful voice and edgy lyrics. It doesn't sound like "Lonelyland" or "I'm Good Now" or the Scabs as Bob tends not to repeat himself while still remaining true to his unique style. It's like crack -- highly addictive. Makes my fillings feel like they are floatin in banana puddin...
bb  11/05/2006          
Bob Schneider
Artist Review
bad ace
Mark  08/22/2006          
Californian
As a big bob fan, I'm disappointed w this new CD. I could play 'I'm Good Now' still over and over and love it. I'm already bored with the Californian - there are a few complete fillers that lack any hooks. I'm looking forward to the next CD because he's been playing some new killer songs live recently - just hope it doesn't take 4 years.
MC_FAD  08/16/2006          
Bob Schneider
Artist Review
Finally a badass hard rockin' BS album that comes as close as anything I've found to the power of his live shows! Fantastic!
Michael  08/10/2006          
Californian
Bob hits a 70's Funk home run with "Mudhouse".
DQ  08/08/2006          
Californian
This is phenomenal- so many of the songs Bob has played live so well for so many years finally released! Although a studio record can never capture the live energy of "Mudhouse", Bob really nailed it with this one.


right-Advertisement


Erotik HD Video