REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


RachelDarlinton  03/23/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
yall this is truly a big ol clusterfuck of an album. there's no set style, theres little rhythm, and the songs dont grab me like i feel a good album should. the emotion is as hollow as a rotted log and its a bit bland for my taste. o well...
Goodtime  03/22/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
There are 2 types of music, good and bad and nothing more. Regardless of whether it's country, rock n roll, soul, jazz, bluegrass, etc... In every aspect of music there are good and there are bad. This just happens to be GOOD! Why? because of the way it makes you feel when you listen, and this album has a good-time feel all over it! You don't need to Merle Haggard, Robbie Robertson, or Dylan to be considered a good songwriter; you don't have to to have a voice like Otis Redding, Vince Gill, or Levon Helm to be good singer, or play like Jorma, Willie, or Waren to be good picker. The point is... though this may be raw, and a little unpolished, a change for the better has happened in music. For once in last decade or more, something has been released that is real! Country music needed a good kick in the ass and I believe this will accomplish just that. Now... lets hope Rock n Roll can find the same resurrection. You know, the Black Crowes are back together!!! However, all in all, Shooter Jennings could be Shooter Johnson for all I care, this is GOOD music!
Tsowdsun  03/22/2005          
Put The O Back In Country
What a sound. The lyrics and guitar in "Sweet Savannah" sounds like he was bleeding on that track and will give you the chills while "Steady at the Wheel" which comes right behind it will have your foot pounding and head bobbing not thinking that the two could be on the same album or by the same artist. But that is what makes the album so great, the R-n-R that runs through it and the grounded Country roots. Waylon would be proud.
LivinLikeThanksgivin  03/20/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
i really think that too many folks are concerned with what's cool and what's not in Texas Music. The thing that gets me is these damn people latching onto artists because theyre friends with Ragweed, Pat, Cory or whoever. Most of y'all out there can't think for yourselves, and you think if so and so knows so and so then they're cool -- or that if your friends like 'em and you don't,then you're not cool. Take Shooter, daddy was Waylon Jennings, and he's good friends with Ragweed. He can play, as a musician I can't say he lacks talent. Vocal ability is something that won't be discussed, because the greats of our times including Willie and Bob Dylan don't have the best voices, but they're both timeless and brilliant. But where Shooter goes all wrong is with his lyrical content. Not only is the album droll, and lifeless -- the lyrics are simply ordinary. He hasn't taken much of a stance on anything that hasn't been covered before. And if any of these come from personal experience, one would hope that he could find more creative ways to express himself. The album is also a rock album, there's not an ounce of country on it, so the mismarketing is another damning factor. I guess we can only hope he redeems himself in the second album.
GrueneHallBabe  03/20/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
Another talentless artist riding the popularity of jumping the Texas Music bandwagon.
C'mon now  03/20/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
I have very little to say except that I rocked out to this dude's music this weekend. Shut the hell up - I am glad to hear someone stretch the genre a bit.
Ed  03/20/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
How is it that this many people are so passionately against him? Smells like someone with an axe to gring and too much time on his hands.
C tha P  03/20/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
He may not have his direction just yet. Many of you have noticed this by the varying styles of the songs on the album. But he's just getting totally reamed. It appears that many of the same people are putting multiple posts. Give him a break. Granted he is utilizing the coat tails too damned much. Truth is the music needs to be polished up and it will be appreciated. Question is can he do it? I'm not quite sure why he's getting so much negative publicity when thereís so much other crap being recorded by other artists. At least some of the songs kick ass. Many cds from other artists entirely suck. Could be that he should have stayed rock n' roll, but crossing over takes balls and time. He's more aggressive than Kevin Fowler who crossed over from hard rock and roll. It's not that it's great stuff, it's good. I'm more concerned that everyone is jumping on the bandwagon when it's Shooters first album of this type. Save the slaughter for weak live performances and a second cd that doesn't meet expectations.
MusicMafia  03/20/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
Back the truck up and pull out the pooper scooper -- he's done for. Originality in music is certainly lacking these days, and Shooter's debut album is no exception. Artists today are trying to fill a void, or deliver certain messages to their fans. They're singing what people want to hear, and not what they believe in. One thing we believe is that Shooter needs to be more in tune with himself, or we'll be tuning out.
Songwriter9192375  03/20/2005          
Shooter Jennings
Artist Review
AS A SINGER SONGWRITER IN TEXAS I REALY THINK THAT IT IMPORTANT FOR OTHER ARTIST TO RESPECT TRADITION BROUGHT FORTH BY THOSE BEFORE THEM. SHOOTER AINT DONE NOTHIN MORE THAN USE HIS PAPPYS NAME TO SELL HIMSELF AS AN ARTIST. I DONT CARE IF HE IS THE SON OF THE ALMIGHTY GOD WAYLON JENNINGS IF YOU AINT IN THE BUSINESS FOR THE LOVE AND PASSION THEN YOU IN IT FOR THE WRONG REASONS. AINT A DROP OF HEARTFELT ANYTHING IN THIS ALBUM SHOWING THAT HE IS IN IT TO MAKE MONEY BECAUSE HE AINT GOT NOTHIN ELSE TO FALL BACK ON. GIVE 'ER UP PAL, IT AINT HARD TO SMELL A FAKE AND YOU ARE THE BIGGEST ONE OF ALL. GO GRAB A BEER AND SIT IN YOUR FRONT ROW SEAT AT THE KENNY CHESNEY CONCERT AND LEAVE THE REST OF US ALONE.


LSM Gets Social