REVIEWS POST ARTIST REVIEWS POST VENUE REVIEWS POST ALBUM REIVEWS
SEARCH BY :      


S. P.  02/16/2006          
Robert Earl Keen
Artist Review
REK's voice may sound a little nasal, but few singers can carry a melody in a way that gives me shivers (in a good way), like in "No Kinda Dancer", "Gringo Honeymoon", "Feelin' Good Again", and "Broken End of Love", to name a few. Something about his voice and ability to harmonize just works. He ranks up there with Steve Earle as one of the best songwriters to come out of Texas.
Big Daddy  01/13/2006          
Robert Earl Keen
Artist Review
It is disappointing to me that so many REK fans can be so shallow. I've been following him for many years and I am also intoxicated by his original hits, but I don't understand how anyone can criticize a man for growing as an artist. The best thing about REK is the fact that you cannot classify his work. His last few albums have been a tremedous leap and if you've seen his show lately, you can understand the evolution of his music - he absolutely stunned Boise, ID last night with an outstanding performance. Thank you for paying us a visit REK! Call it what you will... country poetry, Texas folk, alternative country - I think REK himself stated it best to an audience I was a part of in Phoenix (the Rhythm Room) where he described his style as "Best Western Music"! I just really hope that he will choose to continue developing his career as he sees fit - and that is "What I Really Mean". Peace.
txaggie02  01/02/2006          
Farm Fresh Onions
I loved this album. It shows that REK still has talent and he's not afraid to break away from the usual. Good mix of country, bluegrass, and rock n' roll. Only Keen could pull of some of these songs.
woody  11/29/2005          
Gravitational Forces
To those of you out there that say this album is not any good because its not REK's "style" I pose a question to you. Was the last five recordings by the late great Johnny Cash worthless because they did'nt reflect his "style" from previous works? "Not a Drop of Rain" is one of the greatest songs ever written, performed, or trashed by ignorant drunks on a website ever!
dlG  11/24/2005          
Robert Earl Keen
Artist Review
REK is one of my favorite artists, but this latest album is...well different. Some really good songs, then some that are out there. Maybe it will grow on me with time. He is one hell of a musician though, the band kicks ass, and they put on a great show!
Cleburnekid  10/25/2005          
What I Really Mean
We have all REK releases and this ranks right at the top Very good and enjoyable.
brian  10/13/2005          
Robert Earl Keen
Artist Review
i agree best songwriter and great storyteller but he cant sing and you know it. but he puts on one hell of a show and thats all that matters. robert earl is the man who got me hooked on texas country
Harmony  09/10/2005          
Robert Earl Keen
Artist Review
Robert Earl Keen is by far the best singer , songwriter out there! No one can beat him and his live concerts are a blast to be at , where you can really enjoy his wonderful music. My his road go on forever and the party never end!
ed  08/25/2005          
Robert Earl Keen
Artist Review
What comes around goes around. In the past decade plus, I have watched REK’s bubble rise, founder, and rise again. In ’94 one could not spit his Copenhagen without it landing on the boots of someone who thought that Keen was the future of everything that country music could be. Then, of course, along came Pat Green. Pat gave us the same wine list, but with just a bit more accessible and palate friendly flavors. Robert Earl seemed kicked to the curb like last year’s prom date. These days, however, with the veritable glut of “Texas Friendly” artists to choose from, the true artists, making true art are holding fast. Like a phoenix from the ashes, Robert Earl Keen may rise again and take his rightful seat next to Wills, Willie, and the like.
MWM  08/14/2005          
Robert Earl Keen
Artist Review
Hey Intheknow maybe you should look up on your texas and alt country. You would find that the original pioneer of it was Robert Earl Keen. Without him there would be NO OTHER!!!


right-Advertisement


Eryaman Odtülüler Dershanesi